Friday, October 15, 2010

HOLIDAY GIFT GUIDE Review: Gin Blossoms - No Chocolate Cake CD

Pop rock hit-makers the Gin Blossoms have signed with 429 Records and are preparing for the release of their highly anticipated new album, “NO CHOCOLATE CAKE.”  Known for creating indelibly melodic, Grammy-nominated Top Ten singles and platinum-selling albums, Gin Blossoms—Robin Wilson, Jesse Valenzuela, Scott Johnson and Bill Leen, are back and in peak form.    The eleven new tracks were written, produced and performed by the band with the help of John Richardson (drums) and Danny Wilde on keyboards and additional production (of The Rembrandts).   The first single, “Miss Disarray,” will be promoted at Hot Adult Contemporary radio outlets.  “NO CHOCOLATE CAKE” is set for release in North America on September 28th on 429 Records.

Four years after the critically acclaimed “Major Lodge Victory,” Gin Blossoms have put together a seamless musical confection. The band continues to benefit from an innate chemistry and inspiration—a dynamic that helped catapult songs such as “Hey Jealousy,” “Found Out About You,” “Till I Hear From You” and “Follow You Down” into the collective musical consciousness and helped define an era as well as selling 30 million records worldwide. 

Says Wilson “There’s just something about the way we play and sound together.  It’s those songs and the sound we make that add up to something indefinable.”

From the press release

“NO CHOCOLATE CAKE” track listing:
Don’t Change For Me
I Don’t Want To Lose You Now
Miss Disarray
Wave Bye Bye
I’m Ready
Somewhere Tonight
Go Crybaby
If You’ll Be Mine
Dead Or Alive On The 405
Something Real
Goin’ To California

As soon as I received the new Gin Blossoms - No Chocolate Cake CD, I started listening to it.  I've been a huge fan of theirs since the first time I heard "Hey Jealousy".  The new album is great!  I've been listening to it all day while blogging and I've already memorized most of the songs.  I give it five stars.

Visit the website

Disclosure: I received this product for free.  Opinions expressed are 100% mine.

Bookmark and Share


  1. Would love to win this! Didn't even realize it's out!

  2. They are still kicking after all these years

  3. oh how nice. i have a friend that would probably love this. he's big on the stuff from the 90's and I think he'd like a new album.

    lauren51990 at aol dot com

  4. I love that bands from the 90's are coming back! Best era of music ever! I've been listening to The Blues Travelers that's another band that I want to come back. Great giveaway, sign me up!

  5. Strange title for a music CD--but the sample of music I heard is good.

  6. I'm so glad they've come out with a new CD! I'm putting it on my Christmas List.

  7. Thanks for the great review; I like their song "Found Out About You"!

  8. I really enjoy listening to the Gin Blossoms & can't wait to hear this CD. Thanks for the review!

  9. I didn't know they were still together. I would love to win, this sounds awesome! Thanks! sbcashortie at hotmail dot com

  10. Love them and I'm so glad they have a new CD.

  11. i can't wait to hear this album
    susansmoaks at gmail dot com

  12. I commented on your review.

  13. I would love to listen to this CD. I haven''t heard from them since their debut CD.

  14. I didn't realize the Gin Blossoms has a new album out! I'm looking forward to hearing the new songs. I also loved their Hey Jealousy album.

  15. ...waiting for the Gin Blossoms obligatory appearance on "Letterman" !

    senorpiero [at] yahoo [dot] com