Friday, October 15, 2010

HOLIDAY GIFT GUIDE Review: Meet the SqueeGees CD

The SqueeGees, the beloved children’s group known for their irresistibly catchy and playful music, are back with a new lineup, song and vision to live a healthy and green lifestyle. Their heavily awaited CD, Meet The SqueeGees is available exclusively at Target, and Target at iTunes starting September 21, 2010.

Featuring rich vocal harmonies, acoustic guitars and a shaker or two, The SqueeGees are thrilled with the newest addition to the band, Pierre de Reeder, a well-known bassist from popular indie band, Rilo Kiley, and father of two children. The new song, “Tweet, Tweet, Tweet,” is a lively rollicking adventure that appeals to children of all ages.  Meet The SqueeGees takes a fresh approach to delivering important messages to children such as living healthy and embracing a green lifestyle, all camouflaged in sophistication and coolness.

Featuring 14 educational and humorous tracks that parents will love, the positive songs all have wonderfully sweet messages. The band’s younger fans will enjoy singing and dancing to songs such as “Apples, Oranges and Peaches” (healthy eating), “Nala the Chihuahua” (animal rescue), “The Elements of the Earth” (environmental awareness) and “Rules of the Road” (educational), among others.

The SqueeGees set themselves apart from the traditional genre of children’s music by creating meaningful music with themes such as saving our planet and healthy living that is fun, entertaining and playful. The songs are liberating, sweet and enjoyable for toddlers, parents and grandparents.  Band members Samantha Tobey, Pierre de Reeder and Rich “Shaka” Sherwood are the kids-at-heart behind this grassroots musical journey.  Tobey, a prolific singer/songwriter/musician is a former “Mommy and Me,” and music and movement teacher. Pierre de Reeder, a gifted bass player is an accomplished singer/songwriter and Rich “Shaka” Sherwood, the drummer enjoys teaching drum lessons to children.
The SqueeGees’ music “Making Noises” was featured on the hit Warner Bros television series “Gilmore Girls.” The band has performed at a number of Los Angeles venues including The Festival of Books, The Skirball Center, Zimmer Museum and The Americana. Upcoming fall 2010 performances include Kidspace Museum in Pasadena and The Grove in Los Angeles.

This is one of the best children's CD's I have ever listened to.  It's fun, informative and entertaining for people of all ages.  Meet the SqueeGees CD would make the perfect gift for your little one!

Track listing:

1. Apples oranges & peaches
2. Rules of the road
3. Nala the Chihuahua
4. Bubbles
5. The ol’ WWW
6. Jonathon the tree
7. I-D-E-A
8. De colores
9. Ivan the terrible
10. The elements
11. Making noises
12. Animals that we love
13. Meet the SqueeGees
14. Tweet, tweet, tweet

Visit the website

Release Date: Sept. 21, 2010
Price: $7.99
Target Audience: 0 - 7 years old
Running Time: 41:29

Available at Target

Disclosure: I received this product for free.  Opinions expressed are 100% mine.

Bookmark and Share


  1. I love that there are so many choices available of fun music for my daughter. Electronic toys seem to all play the same 20 or so traditional songs. It's nice to have something to put in the CD player for dance time.

  2. My nieces would love this!

  3. What an awesome and educational CD for my son...I love it!